Missouri Soybean Yield Contest Winners Announced

Missouri soybean farmers brought big yields for the Missouri Soybean Association’s annual competition. Results from the Missouri Soybean Association and Merchandising Council’s annual competition are now finalized with the highest yields well above 90 bushels per acre.

Top honors go to Thomas White III, of Norborne, who nearly doubled Missouri’s statewide soybean average. White’s 96.5 bushel per acre yield came through conventional tillage practices and without irrigation using Pioneer P45T48R soybean seeds. For irrigated soybeans, Ethan Stenger of Liberal led with 96.3 bushels per acre using Asgrow AG3832 seed.

“It is outstanding to see growers come together for friendly competition and continuous improvement through the annual yield contest,” said Matt McCrate, a southeast Missouri farmer and president of the Missouri Soybean Association. “Stewardship and efficiency are key to success on the farm, and our winners demonstrate innovation and commitment to those keys in reaching these high yields. Congratulations to all our participants in the 2016 soybean yield contest and to the growers statewide who continue to raise the bar.”

The Missouri Soybean Association’s yield contest is made possible by generous contributions from the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council and soybean checkoff, Asgrow, Baker Implement Company, Beck’s Hybrids, Lewis Hybrids, Merschman Seeds, Missouri Crop Improvement Association, NuTech Seed, DuPont Pioneer, and Sydenstricker John Deere.

Winners will be recognized at district soybean meetings in early 2017, with the statewide winners recognized during the Missouri Soybean Association annual meeting in Jefferson City at the end of January. Winners are listed below, along with the seed variety used to reach their top-tier yields.

Statewide Winners – Irrigated Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1st Ethan Stenger Liberal Barton Asgrow AG3832 96.3
2nd Reed Kirby Liberal Barton Asgrow AG4135 89.9
3rd Ethan Stenger Liberal Barton Pioneer P39T67R 86.7

Statewide Winners – Non-Irrigated Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1st Thomas White III Norborne Carroll Pioneer P45T48R 96.5
2nd Brad Wilford Laredo Grundy Pro Harvest 4366CR2Y 91.9
3rd Colton Lacina / Iowa Family Farms Queen City Schuyler Asgrow AG34X6 89.2

Thanks to the partnership of the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council, and industry partners, prizes including a trip to the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, their own UAV – drone – and accessories, and gift cards to Cabela’s and for biodiesel – will be awarded to statewide winners. District winners in each category will also receive their choice of $750 in biodiesel or in Cabela’s gift cards.

District Winners – Conventional Till Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1 Gary Waller Faucett Buchanan Asgrow AG4034 76.6
2 Thomas White III Norborne Carroll Pioneer P45T48R 96.5
3 Christy Nelson Vandalia Audrain MFA MorSoy 4524 LL 74.0
4 Lucas Compton Lamar Barton Pioneer 93Y84 77.8
6 John Brenner Morrison Gasconade Pioneer P36T86R 87.3
7 Charles Hinkebein Chaffee Cape Girardeau Asgrow AG4633 82.5

District Winners – No-Till Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1 Josh Oswald Fairfax Atchison Pioneer P33T72R 88.0
2 Brad Wilford Laredo Grundy Pro Harvest 4366CR2Y 91.9
3 Cliff Mahar Curryville Pike Asgrow AG4135 76.1
4 Tony Brackman Concordia Lafayette Pioneer P44T63R 72.2
5 Brian Martin Centralia Boone Asgrow AG4533 82.1
7 Glenda Hinkebein Chaffee Cape Girardeau Asgrow AG4934 84.0

Missouri’s 2016 statewide average soybean harvest was 50 bushels per acre, a new state record, according to the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service. Missouri’s previous statewide record average was 46.5 bushels per acre in 2014.

Participants in the Missouri Soybean Yield Contest were required to enter their fields into the competition prior to harvest. The 2016 entry deadline was September 1. At harvest, participants were required to have a designated judge verify their yield results for the competition and to submit their verified results no later than November 15.

Contest rules are posted online at mosoy.org. Details for the Missouri Soybean Association’s 2017 Yield Contest will be posted online at mosoy.org and announced in Missouri Soybean Farmer magazine during the spring of 2017. To learn more about the contest, or the Missouri Soybean Association, visit mosoy.org.


Note: There is not a no-till winner for district 6, nor a conventional tillage winner in district 5, as no entries met all requirements for those categories.