Mayer Joins Missouri Soybean Association Board of Directors

Jason Mayer, a farmer and seedsman from Stoddard County, is the newest member of the Missouri Soybean Association board of directors. Mayer fills the district 7 director seat previously held by Johnny Hunter. Hunter resigned the seat earlier this month and farmer Andrew Lance, of Barnard, led the Association’s Governance Committee through the selection process as part of their meetings this week.

“The board is committed to its mission of supporting Missouri soybean farmers through education and advocacy,” said Missouri Soybean Association president Ronnie Russell. “We’re proud to serve and look forward to having Jason on board.”

Mayer brings more than 16 years of experience in the seed industry, including the past two years with Local Seed Company, LLC. He also farms with his father-in-law, raising cotton, corn, wheat and soybeans. He and his wife, Lauren, reside in Dexter with their two children, Meredith (8) and Jack (6).

Mayer joins the board of directors effective immediately, filling the unexpired term of Johnny Hunter III (proper name). Hunter was first elected to serve in 2016, and most recently elected to a three-year term in 2019. In resigning from the Missouri Soybean Association board of directors, Hunter said demands on his time had grown and he was not able to give the district the focus it deserved alongside responsibilities to his family, farm and agribusiness operations.

To learn more about how the Missouri Soybean Association works to increase the profitability of Missouri soybean farmers through advocacy and education programs, and to join the Association, explore