Missouri Soybean Yield Contest Winners Announced

It took triple digits to win the Missouri Soybean Association’s annual yield contest this year. Two farmers, both from southeastern Missouri, surpassed the 100-bushel mark with yields of 101.17 and 100.30 bushels per acre, respectively. All six of Missouri’s statewide honorees had soybean yields above 90 bushels per acre, and 28 different entries topped 80 bushels per acre.

The contest’s top honors go to Jerry Cox, of Delta, who raised 101.17 bushel per acre soybean in Cape Girardeau County. Cox’s outstanding yield came Pioneer P48A60X soybean seed under irrigation. The other triple-digit yield, also grown under irrigation, was entered by Rick and Cody Branch of Gideon. The New Madrid County farmers used Asgrow AG38X6 to reach their 100.30 bushels per acre harvest.

“Innovation and stewardship are key to success in the field, and it is great to see the results of those commitments among the growers in Missouri’s annual soybean yield contest,” said Matt McCrate, a southeast Missouri farmer and president of the Missouri Soybean Association. “The emphasis on friendly competition at the district and statewide levels is outstanding, as are these yields. Thank you to all our participants, contest officials and partners who make this annual event possible.”

The Missouri Soybean Association’s yield contest is made possible by generous contributions from the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council and soybean checkoff, Asgrow, Baker Implement Company, Beck’s Hybrids, Legacy Equipment, Lewis Hybrids, Merschman Seeds, Missouri Crop Improvement Association, NuTech Seed, ProHarvest Seeds, DuPont Pioneer, and Sydenstricker John Deere.

Winners will be recognized at district soybean meetings in early 2018, with the statewide winners recognized during the Missouri Soybean Association annual meeting in Jefferson City at the end of January. Winners are listed below, along with the seed variety used to reach their top-tier yields.

Statewide Winners – Irrigated Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1st Jerry Cox Delta Cape Girardeau Pioneer P48A60X 101.17
2nd Rick & Cody Branch Gideon New Madrid Asgrow AG38X6 100.30
3rd Kent Kellenberger Lamar Barton Pioneer P38T20X 98.48


Statewide Winners – Non-Irrigated Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1st Bradley Gillum Green Castle Putnam Stine 36LE32 98.02
2nd Curt Kellenberger Lamar Barton Pioneer P37T32X 95.42
3rd Thomas White III Norborne Carroll Pioneer P45T48R 92.97

Thanks to the partnership of the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council, and industry partners, prizes including a trip to the 2018 Commodity Classic in Anaheim, their own UAV – drone – and accessories, and gift cards to Cabela’s and for biodiesel – will be awarded to statewide winners. District winners in each category will also receive their choice of $750 in biodiesel or in Cabela’s gift cards.

District Winners – Conventional Till Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1 Stanley Bird Maysville DeKalb Pioneer P37T09L 80.60
2 Bradley Gillum Green Castle Putnam Stine 36LE32 98.02
3 Christy Nelson Vandalia Ralls Credenz CZ 3841 LL 78.43
4 Curt Kellenberger Lamar Barton Pioneer P37T32X 95.42
5 Brian D. Martin Centralia Boone Asgrow AG45X6 73.62
6 Adam Bonderer West Alton St. Charles Asgrow AG38X6 77.20
7 Hinkebein Farms C&G Chaffee Cape Girardeau Asgrow AG4835 90.82


District Winners – No-Till Soybeans

  Entry Community County Variety Yield (bu/ac)
1 Gary Waller Faucett Buchanan Asgrow AG38X6 72.31
2 Bradley Gillum Green Castle Putnam Stine 42LI32 89.70
3 David Wiggins Memphis Scotland Lewis 3872X 73.91
4 Jeremy Thomas Rocky Comfort McDonald Asgrow AG48X7 88.14
5 Brian D. Martin Centralia Boone Asgrow AG4135 61.74
7 Carl Landewee Chaffee Cape Girardeau Asgrow AG47X6 86.75

Missouri’s record statewide average soybean harvest is 50 bushels per acre, set in 2016, according to the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Participants in the Missouri Soybean Yield Contest were required to enter their fields into the competition prior to harvest. The 2017 entry deadline was September 1. At harvest, participants were required to have a designated judge verify their yield results for the competition and to submit their verified results no later than November 15.

Contest rules are posted online at mosoy.org. Details for the Missouri Soybean Association’s 2018 Yield Contest will be posted online at mosoy.org and announced in Missouri Soybean Farmer magazine during the spring of 2018.