Matt McCrate Elected to Second Term as MSA President

IMG_0375_ppDuring the Missouri Soybean Association’s annual meeting January 30-31, 2017, soybean farmer Matt McCrate of Cape Girardeau was elected to a second one-year term as the organization’s president.

McCrate’s leadership team includes vice-president C. Brooks Hurst, a soybean farmer from Tarkio, Mo., secretary Ronnie Russell of Richmond, Mo. and treasurer Matt Wright of Emden, Mo.

On the board of directors, McCrate also currently represents soybean farmers in District 7, southeastern Missouri. He is up for re-election to that seat February 14, 2017. Regardless of the outcome of that election, which will be held in Sikeston, McCrate may continue to serve as the Association’s president through 2017.

He currently farms in a family partnership, Five Brothers Farms, LLC, and works as a seed representative for Stratton Seed Company. McCrate is also licensed as a Certified Crop Adviser (CCA).  In addition to those responsibilities, McCrate is active in his community, having been recognized as a Master Gardener through the University of Missouri’s Extension program and has a member of the Knights of Columbus. He and his wife, Alice, reside in Cape Girardeau, Mo. and have three children.

Previously, he  served on the Arkansas Seed Dealers Association board of directors, and as the Industry At-Large Representative to the Arkansas Soybean Association board of directors. Most recently, he represented Missouri on the board of directors for the American Soybean Association.

To learn more about how the Missouri Soybean Association works to increase the profitability of Missouri soybean farmers through advocacy and education efforts across the state, and join the Association, visit