Soybean Leadership Update – Kelley, Lichte, Wilson, Brock

Farmers elect new members to the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council and Missouri Soybean Association boards of directors each year. For many of those new directors, the summer board meeting is their first after being elected.

John Kelley

The Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council also nominates and elects its executive board during the summer board meeting. During the 2017 meeting at the end of July, John Kelley of Faucett was elected to a second one-year term as chairman of the board of directors. Robert Alpers of Prairie Home was elected vice chairman, and Kyle Durham of Norborne was elected secretary/treasurer. Harold Gloe of Hermann retired from the executive board during the summer meeting.

New board members for the summer meetings were Tim Lichte of Lexington on the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council board and Cody Brock of Norborne for the Missouri Soybean Association. Bruce Wilson of Mexico was elected to the Association board earlier this year.

Tim Lichte

Tim Lichte of Lexington was elected this spring to fill the seat David Lueck previously held in district four. Litche is a sixth generation farmer who has served on his county Farm Bureau board and with MFA Inc. He is currently serving as chairman of the Board of Zoning Adjustments for Lafayette County. Lichte operates a family farm with his wife, Laurie, and his son Eric. Their row crop farm stretches about 1,400 acres and is comprised of soybeans and corn. He and Laurie have three adult children, Eric, Michael and Gina.

Cody Brock

Bruce Wilson of Mexico and Cody Brock of Norborne joined the Missouri Soybean Association board of directors at the summer meeting representing districts three and four, respectively. Wilson, a third generation farmer and active member of the community, fills the seat previously held by Greg Sharpe. Wilson is an active member of the Audrain County Soil and Water Conservation District. He also serves on the MFA Agriservice Advisory Board and serves as chairman of the soybean commodity advisory committee for Missouri Farm Bureau. Brock holds the seat previously filled by E.L. Reed of Chillicothe, and farms with his family near Norborne. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri and a member of Missouri ALOT Class XVII.

The Missouri Soybean Association is led by Matt McCrate of Cape Girardeau, president, Brooks Hurst of Tarkio, vice president, Ronnie Russell of Richmond, secretary, and Matt Wright of Emden, treasurer.

Contact Missouri Soybean board members and learn more about the organizations through